Tour, Leno, and Number One

September 01, 2002 3:44 PM

Coldplay's critically acclaimed sophomore effort, 'A Rush of Blood to the Head,' entered the UK charts at #1 this week.

In addition to their scheduled appearance on TV's Late Night with Conan O' Brien on September 27th, the band will now also appear on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Their Tonight Show appearance is slated for Thursday, September 12th.

And just a reminder, Coldplay's U.S. tour kicks off this Wednesday up here in Seattle. I'll be attending the show, so I'll have a setlist and review for everyone. However, there at ten other shows that I would like to have setlists and reviews to, so if you're interested let me know. I already have someone lined up for Boston and Atlanta, but it wouldn't hurt to have multiple people sending stuff in. The U.S. tour will go as follows:

  • Seattle
  • San Francisco
  • Las Vegas
  • San Diego
  • LA
  • Atlanta
  • Baltimore
  • Boston
  • New York
  • Toronto
  • Chicago
I didn't get any response regarding the one ticket I have for sale for the upcoming sold out Seattle show. I decided to put it up on eBay starting at $0.99 with no reserve, just so I know some Coldplay fan will get to go. If you're interested in possibly getting the ticket for really cheap, check out my eBay item page. Good luck to all those who bid! It should be a great show!

Permalink | Viewed 1355 times.

London Setlist and Review

August 30, 2002 2:43 PM

Coldplay played their sold out show in London last night, and it sounds like it was quite the performance. The setlist (according to NME) was as follows:

  1. Politik
  2. Shiver
  3. Spies
  4. Daylight
  5. Trouble
  6. One I Love
  7. t Panic s Not Lost
  8. Shining Light (Ash cover)
  9. Warning Sign
  10. God Put A Smile Upon Your Face
  11. Yellow
  12. The Scientist
  13. Clocks
  14. In My Place
  15. Life Is For Living
  16. Lips Like Sugar (Echo and the Bunnymen cover)
  17. Amsterdam
for their longtime manager Phil Harvey.

For the full review, see NME.

Permalink | Viewed 2816 times.

BBC London Interview and Past Shows

August 30, 2002 4:56 AM

Coldplay's live interview with Gary Crowley on BBC London 94.9pm last night is now available as a streaming download at the station's website. To access the interview directly, click on part 1 and then part 2. It's good to hear Will and John talking about the new album and recent Coldplay events, so definitely check it out.

Coldplay's recent Olympia gig in Paris is now available to watch as a webcast from I've also seen a few of the tracks available to download on WinMX (and heard more are available via Kazaa).

And finally, it seems like forever and a day ago that Coldplay played the Midtfyns fact, you'll have to scroll all the way back to July 4th to read about it on my news page. However, if you DO remember that posting, you'll also remember that my translation relealed that promised to unveil the entire concert via webcast during the month of August. They didn't lie, because the entire show is now available to stream. To watch the show, choose either broadband or modem as your stream speed. Have fun!

Permalink | Viewed 1830 times.

MTV Video Music Awards 2002

August 30, 2002 3:46 AM

As many of you know already, Coldplay picked up the VMA for Art Direction on their video for 'Yellow' at this year's MTV Video Music Awards. They were beaten by the White Stripes in the Breakthrough Video category. To see a list of all this year's winners, see Yahoo! News.

Permalink | Viewed 1208 times.

Coldplay to Appear on Christmas Album

August 29, 2002 1:17 PM

Previously unreleased recordings from Coldplay and Vanessa Carlton and obscure tracks from Jimmy Eat World and Sarah McLachlan with the Barenaked Ladies will be featured in the upcoming holiday collection, Maybe This Christmas, due November 5 from Nettwerk America.

The 12-song release offers a mix of cover versions of classic Christmas songs and originals. Coldplay puts its stamp on "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" while Carlton does her own "Green Sleeves." The Jimmy Eat World original "12/23/95" originally appeared on the group's 1999 Capitol Records album, Clarity, while the McLachlan/Ladies take on "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" was issued on a previous holiday album.

Other covers include Phantom Planet doing "Winter Wonderland," Sense Field tackling John Lennon's "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)," and Bright Eyes taking on the Elvis Presley classic "Blue Christmas." Further originals are presented by Ben Folds, Neil Finn, and Semisonic's Dan Wilson.

A portion of proceeds from sales of Maybe This Christmas will be donated to Toys For Tots.

The complete track listing is: "Winter Wonderland," Phantom Planet; "Maybe This Christmas," Ron Sexsmith; "Green Sleeves," Vanessa Carlton; "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," Coldplay; "Blue Christmas," Bright Eyes; "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)," Sense Field; "12/23/95," Jimmy Eat World; "Bizarre Christmas Incident," Ben Folds; "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen," Sarah McLachlan & Barenaked Ladies; "What A Year For A New Year," Dan Wilson (of Semisonic); "Sweet Secret," Neil Finn; and "Snow," Loreena McKennitt.

Source: Yahoo! News

Permalink | Viewed 2755 times.

Recently Viewed Photos

Recently Read News

BT DMA08 People's Choice Nominee - Vote for me!


Most Read News Entries

Most Viewed Photos